Quick Vacation Recap

Hello everyone! I’m back! I missed you all while I was away but it was nice to take a break from blogging. I had an amazing time on vacation. I had so much fun spending time with my family, especially my one sister who I hadn’t seen in a couple weeks. In case you didn’t know, I went on a cruise through Europe leaving from Italy, stopping in Montenegro and some of the Greek Isles. I was originally going to give a more in depth summary but I decided that would be rather long and boring so I’ll give a quick summary here, highlighting some of the different aspects of the trip, as well as dump a ton of photos from the trip! IMG_3169

IMG_3314

The places we visited were absolutely beautiful! We stopped in Kotor, Montenegro, Corfu, Mykonos, Athens, and Kefalonia and spent our last day after the cruise in Venice, Italy. My favorite stops were Mykonos and Kefalonia, although they were all so great! Of course I was in love with Venice too! Hands down one of my favorite cities. I love how it is a pedestrian city and the only way to get around other than walking are the canals that run throughout the city. Last time I was there I took a gondola ride but this time we didn’t since we took a water taxi right from our ship to the hotel door. Venice is such a beautiful city, I love all the architecture there. IMG_3328

IMG_3003

IMG_3074We went swimming, walked through the old cities, went to the Acropolis, laid on the beach, took lots of pictures, visited a cave, and ate some delicious food off the ship. I wish we had more time at each stop, rather than the couple of hours the cruise ship gave. We luckily only had one full day at sea, other than the day of departure. The ship’s food wasn’t that great, as to be expected but it wasn’t horrible. The last cruise I went on with the same line was a much larger, newer and nicer ship. I liked the entertainment better on that one and the food was of better quality, although it was mostly the same. I tried some new foods while away which is always exciting, if it ends up being good!IMG_3270

We ate off the ship twice in Greece, instead of on the ship and those were the best meals of the entire trip! We split the meals between the whole table so we would order  bunch of things and try them all. Seriously some of the best food I’ve ever had. It was so fresh and well, delicious! We ordered amazing Greek salads, a salad with a whole bunch of greens and veggies with a lemon vinaigrette, a salad with quinoa, avocado, and other yumminess with a delicious dressing, fresh baked pita bread and taziki (which I had never had before and it was so good!), fresh Caprese salad, grilled vegetables, a Greek version of bruschetta, and other things that I can’t remember! I’m sorry I didn’t take any pictures because they looked almost as good as they tasted! We also had some ice cream and gelato off (and on, they had a Ben & Jerry’s on ship which we couldn’t resist buying one night!) the ship. In Italy we had pizza, which I was honestly disappointed in. I’ve had better pizza at home and the pizza I had the last time I was there was SOOO much better. It was just the restaurant my grandma chose. Plus, Venice isn;t really known for it’s pizza anyway. But, we did have some amazing pasta later that day for dinner and the best gelato I’ve ever had! (Which is saying something because I had it often the last time I was in Italy.) We had a super long flight home on Sunday, I watched 3 movies, 4 episodes of tv shows, and finished a book. The flight felt like it would never end. When I got home, I was exhausted and fell asleep before 7pm! IMG_3189

Another one of the great things about going on the cruise was unplugging from my phone, the internet, and social media for a week. We could only use our phones when we had wifi, which wasn’t often, and it was honestly so refreshing and such a relief. It is so nice to detach and unplug. You aren’t exposed to the pressures of social media and all that and spend time off your phone, engaging in real conversations and real life experiences. I only liked to find wifi to text updates to my dad on our whereabouts and excursions. I checked social media a couples times, but only for a couple minutes to post a picture or send a snap to my friends.IMG_3229

Now, it’s Monday, I’m fully rested, although not fully time adjusted, I woke up around 4:30this morning. I can’t believe this trip is over! I spent my entire summer looking forward to it and now that it’s over, my summer basically is. I can’t believe I start school in two weeks! I’m a mess of emotions over it and still do not feel ready at all. I’m happy I start later than most people though and still have some time left at home. Today i have to say goodbye to my 3 closest friends who leave tomorrow and Wednesday. It’s going to be so hard to say goodbye and not be with them at school everyday anymore. I’m going to miss them so much. While I was away, some of my other friends already moved in and I didn’t even get a chance to say goodbye which is really upsetting 😦IMG_3361

Once again, I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity to go on this vacation. I’m so fortunate to have been able to take this trip with my family and definitely do not take it for granted! It was a great time, especially the quality time with my family. I made some great memories over the course of the trip. IMG_3153

I hope you enjoyed this kind of short, weird, all over the place synopsis of my vacation! I missed you all and look forward to getting back into the routine of posting on here. Talk to you tomorrow! IMG_3103

xoxo

Michelle

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lyss says:

    aw omg sounds like SO much fun!! I am so glad you had a great time. And loving the yoga pic at the end. All these views look gorgeous too!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

